Matt-Media

Automotive Photographer & Cinematographer

Shooting week

1 Comment

 

This week we began shooting our documentary, we started last thursday. Rather than going to our documentary lecture we decided it would be beneficial if we went to film some of shots at the gym. So I organised with my friend Tom who the documentary is based on, when he was going to the gym. He was fortunately going that day at 1 o’clock so we got organised with equipment and headed off, when we’re about to reach the location about 15 minutes away i received a phone call from my friend who said that its really busy at the gym and he doesn’t think we could film much.

But learning from we have been told at university, we went anyway even if to just film establishing shots or sound we would get something!. Luckily when we got there the gym had quietened down so we could film everything we wanted. We managed to record the sounds of the gym to bring across that sweaty and gritty atmosphere. with sounds of boxing gloves connecting with bags in the background, after that we then filmed Tom on his training routine in the observational documentary style. After this we then did some cinematic shots of him doing certain training disciplines, doing his gloves and tape.

Once we had finished filming Tom at the gym we then moved onto the cinematic establishing shots. That was a wrap for the Gym shots.

After that we then needed to film the interviews and silhouette shots, the lighting was really difficult to set up as the shed with Tom’s punch bag in wasn’t the largest.
After filming the best I could with the space I had of the silhouette boxing, I moved on to the interview and got the lighting looking really good with the punch bag just to the side of the shot, Tom gave a lot of good and inspirational lines and was really confident on camera.

I then did some shots of Toms trophies and gloves thats look really good in the final video. I’m currently editing the final footage to get it looking amazing!

Author: iimatt

Hello everybody, my names Matthew Clifford I'm 20, living in Coventry and studying a BA Hons Degree in Media Production at Coventry University, I would see myself as a media professional, I'm always looking for interesting media jobs in the industry. I have a great sense of humor and i would see myself as a very approachable guy, if you have anything u want to ask me then go ahead, i dont bite.

One thought on “Shooting week

  1. Check out comments published on module blog tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

