Matt-Media

Automotive Photographer & Cinematographer

161MC | Final Reflection

Leave a comment

The 161 module, was something i was looking forward to with the branding aspect and photoshop work. But the other two tasks i have really struggled on, The remaking a fairytale was ok and i though i did a good job with that whilst having a strong narrative to support the web 2.0 tools used. Where as the recycled media from 160 was a bit of a belly ache trying to get some inspiration from the previous work i have. I managed to come up with the idea from our cabinet project character Grant Brockhurst who was a passionate surfer and combined that with the somali pirates poem i created and made a narrative that grant had been kidnapped and held to ransom.

I did this by using news headlines off the net for the web 2.0 tools aspect, then remade the dramatic phone call grant made to the emergency services about his crash and change it for he has been kidnapped. Like I said i really struggled trying to make something out of the resources i had but i feel it would make a strong narrative which Mez said remember that is the main thing. so below is my final recycled media piece.

http://vimeo.com/37431540

 

After i had created my Recycled media i moved onto my fairytale which i enjoyed creating the narrative and making it relevant in the modern day society, which i think i succeeded at with the weight related problems in the story. The narrative has a morale to the story as well which i feel is always a strong way to put across a story. I used dating profiles, PDF menus and google maps to fulfil the web 2.0 tools part of the assignment. I feel the story has a hint of humour thrown in there to keep the viewer entertained. Below is my final fairytale piece.

http://vimeo.com/37320743

Last but defiantly not least was my favourite part of this assignment was the branding of ourselves, I thoroughly enjoyed this as I have some good skills in photoshop and would say i have a creative edge. I already have an online alias which is iiMatty from my Playstation Network account. So I thought I would expand on that and created my brand name which is IM-MAT-MEDIA which I though was catchy, yet professional.

This is my final logo i created with the thumbs up around the side to emphasise my personality, it could also represent how the employer will be left feeling after i have finished my work for them. i went for the strong font as i feel it creates impact and people will always remember my logo as strong and vibrant. As well as creating my logo i did various layouts that all link my brand to each other with my blog design and YouTube page which you can check here.

http://www.youtube.com/user/iimatty

I also went on to create intro’s for my videos which feature my logo so people will start to recognise my work.

 

Overall with this module there were elements i enjoyed and others that i found a little tedious, but i understand why we were asked to create this media pieces. I feel i just struggle with several little tasks, i benefit more from one big project rather than multiple smaller tasks.

Author: iimatt

Hello everybody, my names Matthew Clifford I'm 20, living in Coventry and studying a BA Hons Degree in Media Production at Coventry University, I would see myself as a media professional, I'm always looking for interesting media jobs in the industry. I have a great sense of humor and i would see myself as a very approachable guy, if you have anything u want to ask me then go ahead, i dont bite.

Leave a Reply

