Matt-Media

Automotive Photographer & Cinematographer

RESEARCH Chris dickens video editor

Leave a comment

Chris dickens is a very sought after video editor having won countless awards for work on The Slumdog Millionaire including the Academy Award for Film Editing, BAFTA Award for Best Editing, and the American Cinema Editors Award for Best Edited Feature Film.

BUT these are not the films or awards I am interested in whilst researching Chris Dickens, the one thing that brought him to my attention was his work on Shaun Of The Dead which is a hilarious film which featured a lot of editing techniques i want to pour into my edit of our short film. The main thing is the quick cuts he uses. heres an example.

Chris dickens did edit this footage and in this way but the idea of the style of cuts came from Edgar Wright, one of the writers on Shaun Of The Dead.

I want to use this technique or at least try in my footage to build suspense for my characters big reveal, once he arrives on the crime scene i’ll show him in a powerful shot with a big reveal after building up suspense.

Author: iimatt

Hello everybody, my names Matthew Clifford I'm 20, living in Coventry and studying a BA Hons Degree in Media Production at Coventry University, I would see myself as a media professional, I'm always looking for interesting media jobs in the industry. I have a great sense of humor and i would see myself as a very approachable guy, if you have anything u want to ask me then go ahead, i dont bite.

Leave a Reply

